BMW-Driver.net Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I am new to BMW-Driver.net.

Can anyone help me, I have my first BMW about a year now. A cracking navy blue 2011 BMW 5 SERIES 520D SE SA Z5I3 5DR Auto 2.0L Automatic Diesel Estate with panoramic sunroof and ambient light kit. Real head turner!

About six months ago my driver's side angel light stopped working. A main dealer wanted €500 to sort it. He said it would cost about €135 for a software diagnostic test for something he already knew the issue and €375 for a new Module Controller. €500 to get a side light bulb working (that is actually not broken). Hell will freeze over before I pay them €500.

My NCT is in four months and I need to get this fixed.

I think the part number is 63 11 7 304 906 but I would not have the whereabouts to install it.

Any ideas? :confused2:

·
Registered
538 Posts
It's not just a matter of fitting it (which is quite easy). You should update the software of car too and initialise the system.

If you want a new part you will be paying very close to the €500 mentioned...

Dealer only part and if you want to risk secondhand it's your choice...

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Apologies about the delay in responding and thank you for your thoughts and advice. If there is no other way, so be it but it sounds hugely over-engineered to me. What exactly does the Module do?

Can you by-pass it and feed the battery current directly to the Angel side light which is not faulty?

·
Registered
538 Posts
Apologies about the delay in responding and thank you for your thoughts and advice. If there is no other way, so be it but it sounds hugely over-engineered to me. What exactly does the Module do?

Can you by-pass it and feed the battery current directly to the Angel side light which is not faulty?
It increases control and significantly reduces wiring...