BMW-Driver.net Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
134 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well folks this is my first project thread on here and my first combustion powered project in quite a few years. The last being a 1984 Nissan Stanza :)

The car is a '95 (09/94 prod date) E36 coupe in dakar yellow with a M43b16 power plant. I got the car a few weeks back as a swap for a E36 touring I had for sale. Several people have told me I'm mad to spend time and money on it and have offered semi seriously to tow it to a scrap yard. I just stared back as its kinda grown on me. So when I got the car it ran like a dog , had no power , refused to idle and drained the battery overnight. Oh and critically had no stereo!!

So first off I picked up a neat stereo from lidl for 40 euros and got the tunes back.Phew. Near one that! Those who followed my thread on the diagnostic forum will know i was chasing the engine issue for a few weeks. Eventually got it solved but quite by accident. My battery drain was caused by someone fitting the wrong type and pinout dme relay. So the dme always had power. Fortunatley I had the dme relay from the ev compact and fitting that restored normal operation. No more battery drain and also seem to have cured the missfire.

So with the engine running smoothly I turned my attention to the pool of oil on the driveway. The usual oil filter housing gasket and o-ring failure. Changed them and fitted a new oil press sensor just in case. Still have a small oil leak from the front crank seal so picked up a new one today.

Body wise the car is quite straight with only a few minor rust spots I think I can handle. Interior is a mess and both front seats look like my cats had a keg party on them. So I'll need a nice leather interior to solve that prob.

Mechanically the car seems sound otherwise. Nice crack on the drivers side of the windscreen will require a replacement though. NCT booked for 7th July so that will be fun considering it last expired 01/2011:D